Monopoly Project.

My Interactive comms project to create a playable monopoly board, based on a video game has had its deadline moved to after Christmas. As a result it has been put on something of a back burner. However I hope this post will illustrate the progress i have made through a series of photos.

Bare Bones

I found out the measurements for a standard monopoly board, then imported an image of one into Photoshop and created this, tracing the lines of the original. This gave me a skeleton to flesh out.

                                                                                         Familiar Colour

 

I have decided to retain the square shape of the monopoly board. This is partly because I intend to change all the iconic imagery on the board.  I believe that this will keep the  monopoly feel effectively. The familiarity will still be there, effectively.

Taking on a theme

Again using Photoshop I added an ‘aged paper’ texture to the board. This is semi inspired by the physical map that comes with the game ‘Skyrim’, as well as the map used in the interface on oblivion. I have selected the imagery I want to use for my chance and community chest tiles.

                                                                                          Some progress

I have starrted to populate my board. To the left is my most recent edition. This is mainly just an experiment to test imagery and get a feel for what I want the finished product to look like.

Comments and thoughts: I like elements of the board, however I am struggling to find imagery that holds a cohesive theme and that doesn’t require too much of a Photoshop facelift. I have recently acquired a PDF of Oblivions strategy guide, hopefully the imagery sourced from  there will prove useful to my project.

Leave a comment